Uncategorized

Top 10 Modem Router Combo Units — Best Ones Reviewed and Compared

A fast and reliable modem router combo is a necessity in most office workplaces and households. The best thing about opting for a combo package is that you don’t have to purchase a separate WiFi router and a separate modem – you just opt for the combo and get a two-in-one package. With the two built into one modem, you will enjoy seamless integration with less configuration. In this brief write-up, you will find the best of the best modem router combo. We took the time to research and identify which ones of the following ten (10) are worth considering, and which ones are not.

TP-LINK N300 DOCSIS 3.0 (8x4) Wireless Wi-Fi Cable Modem Router, Certified for Comcast, Time Warner Cable, and Cablevision (TC-W7960)

As one of the most budget-friendly options, TP-Link N300 is an ideal choice for anybody who wants a reliable and strong signal. This unit is paired with the latest N300 WiFi and DOCSIS 3.0 technology, which helps you to achieve high-speed download speeds of up to 300 Mbps. At this speed, you can look forward to faster file transfers, online gaming, HD video streaming and basic Internet browsing.

  • Powered by the latest DOCSIS technology which is designed to deliver up to 343 Mbps download speeds and 143Mbps upload speeds.
  • Utilizing 8 downstream and 4 upstream channels means your devices will achieve faster throughput that performs quite well with intensive tasks such as HD video streaming and online gaming.
  • Its back panel is packed with 4 Gigabit Ethernet ports which provide space for direct wired connections that may not utilize wireless capabilities.
  • Simplified configuration and step by step setup make this modem router combo a plug and play device.
  • Product
  • Specification

TP-Link N300 DOCSIS 3.0 (8x4) Wireless Wi-Fi Cable Modem Router, Certified for...

Save yourself monthly rental fees and enjoy reliable Wi-Fi in your home with the TC-W7960. The 2-in-1 device works as both a cable modem and a router, replacing your ISP�s rental modem while also ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Wireless Type

802.11 a/b/g/n

Number of USB 2.0 Ports

2

I don't often write reviews but read a lot of them, and wanted to put this out there to help anyone considering this router.When I was comparing different lower cost routers it seemed like every product had negative reviews and pointed out flaws, to the point where it gave me pause on buying ANYTHING at all.But bottom line this is a very good router for the price, simple to set up, and I recommend it BIGLY1. Good reception in 2000 sq foot house. I have used multiple devices and streamed video with no problem.2. SO SIMPLE to set up - right out of box, connect cord, plug in power, and use the SSID and password printed on the S/N label - no need to log in and do any configurationDo not despair upon reading all the reviews and just order this if you're looking to stay under fifty buckaroos
August 15, 2016
I am having problems running Netflix on my Xbox One S with this modem/router combo. I've reset the router/modem, reset my Xbox, tried port forwarding, tried a DMZ, etc. I used a hotspot from my phone and the Xbox works fine with Netflix. I've received no help from the support team after contacting them. I will not buy a TP Link product again.UPDATE: If you have any problems with XBOX or a game console you need to connect it to the Guest Network. TP link tech support was very helpful. Here are the step by step instructions that they provided me that work:After logging in, please follow these steps:1. Click "Advanced" at the top2. Click "Wireless 2.4G" on the left3. Click "Guest Network" on the left4. Make sure the both "Allow guests to see each other" and "Allow guests to access my local network" are checked5. Check the box that says "Enable Guest Network"6. In the "Name (SSID)" field, type the preferred name of your network. We recommend giving it a slightly different name than your main network, so your XBOX can easily identify it.7. For Security, select "WPA/WPA2-Personal"8. In the Wireless Password box, type in your current Wi-Fi password9. Click "Save" and wait a few moments10. Click the "Reboot" asterisk in the top right to reboot the router and apply the changes.
December 8, 2016
The modem/router Comcast provided performed horribly. According to speedtest it was giving about 1-2 Mbps per device. We put this affordable TPLink inside of it on our home network and instantly we were getting access to the full bandwidth we are paying for. Believe me when I say this is a much better solution than going through the hell of Comcast support.The TPLink provides simple setup. It is giving us faster throughput as measured by speedtest for our super busy (Xbox, TV, multiple tablets, half dozen smart phones, half dozen desktops) home network than the Linksys we tried.There are 2 reasons I did not give this item 5 stars:-- Cheap construction; our unit is safely out of the way in a closet but it doesn't seem it would take much to crack the chassis or break the plastic around the ports. But, it is one of the most affordable units around, so as long as your not planning to be plugging / unplugging often or have some other physical risk factor you should be good to go.-- Out of the box, we experienced random restarts once or twice every day. After a firmware update (very easy to install), we've been running for a month or so without any further problems.
October 8, 2016
PROS:
  • Plug and play installation
  • Excellent transfer rate
  • Excellent range
CONS:
  • Produces a constant annoying low decibel noise which makes it unsuitable for bedroom use
back to menu ↑

ARRIS SURFboard with DOCSIS 3.0 Technology (SBG6782)

ARRIS SURFboard SBG6782-AC DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and AC1750 Wi-Fi Router utilizes 8 downstream and 4 upstream channels, leaving your devices with faster throughput that performs exceptionally well with high resource intensive tasks. Besides that, in order to create a suitable connection with WiFi signal that is suitable for large houses, the modem combo router comes with a built-in booster which enables the two antennas to work together to create a strong beam between connected devices and the router.

  • Backed by a 2-year limited warranty that keeps it protected against any malfunctions. In addition, ARRIS is known for their helpful technical support, which is available, round the clock by email and phone.
  • Equipped with a super-fast processor that is designed to handle large tasks without worries about lag or latency.
  • Compatible with most operating systems including Windows, Mac, Unix, and Linux. Additionally, this modem router combo is compatible with all US cable companies (and approved by the same companies).
  • Channel bonding combines eight downstream and four upstream channels making sure you are connected with the best transfer rate possible.
  • Product
  • Specification

ARRIS SURFboard SBG6782-AC DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and AC1750 Wi-Fi Router -...

8X Faster than DOCSIS 2.0 Download speeds up to 343 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem 8 download

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Wireless Type

802.11 a/b/g/n

Swapped out my Comcast rental modem, was up and running in just a few minutes, and now I don't have to pay the $7 modem rental fee to Comcast. I'm provisioned for the 105/20 Mbps package and typically get 120/20.5 Mbps.This modem can utilize up to 8 channels of downstream for a theoretical max speed of 343 Mbps whereas the Motorola SB6121 and other earlier/cheaper DOCSIS 3 modems can only utilize 4 channels maxing your download speeds out at 172 Mbps. Just something to think about if you plan on using this modem for a few years as speeds offered will inevitably increase.Also, it *does* support IPv6 even though Comcast's page doesn't list it as certified yet. Motorola's data sheet specifically lists the SB6141 as IPv6 ready and tests with an Apple AirPort Extreme (v7.6.4) and MacBook Pro running 10.9 confirm this.Update 2/4/13: Still working great without issue.Update 3/25/13: Still not even a single reboot required.Update 8/28/13: Still working great...Update 7/8/14: First issue... had an outage for 15 min. Reset the modem and it didn't resolve the issue. Called Comcast, they reset something on their end and I was up and running again. First issue since I bought it.Update 4/5/2015: Comcast recently upgraded my speed tier and I'm consistently getting speeds up to 180/25 Mbps.
January 12, 2013
Out of nowhere, I was having excruciatingly slow internet speed on Comcast. The Comcast tech advised that my Motorola SB 4100 was at the "end of life" and that I should upgrade. Skeptical, I purchased this modem which is a DOCSIS 3.0 (and backwards compatible) modem. It worked. I went from a 2mbps download speed to over 17mbps. What a difference. There was one installation glitch that you need to be aware of. When you hook up the modem (connect the coax cable, connect the ethernet cable, and plug it in, that's it), and then try to get online, it will direct you to a Comcast self-activation screen (no other site is available). After entering my account number and phone number and hitting the "next" button, I got a blank screen, and nothing happens. So I called Comcast and they said that usually happens if you are doing an upgrade; it mostly works only for a new service connection. However, it is a simple matter to give the tech your MAC address and the serial number. After about 5 minutes, while he stayed on the line, it came alive, no problem. BUT, here's the thing: the serial number they need is the CUSTOMER serial number. This is only found on the bottom of the Motorola box the modem came in. This is different from the "S/N" serial number that is on the label that is on the instruction sheet and on the bottom of the modem itself. The customer S/N has letters in it; the regular S/N has only numbers in it and is too long. My first Comcast tech didn't know that and it took a day to sort it out. Other than that, it works well with my iMac and Apple Airport Extreme Base wireless router. Enjoy
September 29, 2011
I felt compelled to write this to help those who will encounter the problems I faced (and mentioned here). I'm one of the many people who wanted to avoid renting a modem from Comcast and bought this modem based on the stellar reviews, only to find that on the day of installation/activation that it "didn't work". Didn't work meant experiencing the same symptoms that's been mentioned here several times - "modem connects but then resets/power cycles/disconnects itself within a few minutes." This happened to me on the day I activated my Comcast internet. The technician spent 1.5 hours trying to figure it out and ended up loaning me a Comcast modem (Motorola SB5120 DOCSIS2), which came up almost instantly and activated just as fast (go figure). He suggested I return this modem as it was defective, in his opinion. I didn't like this since the probability of this was very small. But I saw what I saw and could not get past the first page of Comcast self activation screen with this modem. Before the web page for self activation could proceed, after typing my account info and phone number, the modem would conveniently lose connection. At one point I did get to the next screen where it was scanning for devices, but the modem cut out thereby hanging the process. The modem was packed up in the box for return to Amazon when I couldn't shake how much this bothered me and by my bad luck. So I came back here and read pretty much every review. What I found was there's several people who experienced the EXACT same symptoms while trying several of the same modem. There were two reviews that stood out. One was from a person who mentioned the Comcast technician moaned when he saw it was this modem, indicating that the technician was aware of difficulties using this modem. The person mentioned that after 70 minutes of trying to get the modem to connect the technician advised him to leave the modem powered on and hooked up for awhile and to try activating later. The person did this and was successful in activating the modem. The other review was from a person who was admirably persistent. His review talks of several attempts to connect and refusal to accept that the modem was defective. He ended up leaving the modem power on and connected overnight so the modem could "download firmware". The next day he was able to activate after two attempts with Comcast self activation process. Lastly, I noticed for me that if I left the modem power on and connected but make no attempt to activate it via Comcast web site, the modem retains connection (via indicator lights) for prolonged periods of time. It only seems to lose connection when I try to activate. Based on this I felt something was broken with Comcast activation process specifically for this modem or perhaps Comcast was intentionally making it difficult to activate this modem to convince customers to rent a "reliable" modem from them. To be honest, it almost worked for me. After sitting there watching the technician agonize trying to get the modem to work, I was tempted to rent the modem and move on with life. So as one last hail Mary attempt, this is what I did:1. Took the modem back out of the box and left the Motorola SB6121 power on and connected to cable outlet overnight just to entertain the possibility that some firmware or info needed to be downloaded to the modem and that for some reason it took a long time to do so.2. The next morning I tried Comcast's self activation process.3. Every time Win7's network icon in the lower right corner of my screen indicated that a internet connection was established (vs. exclamation mark) I immediately opened a IE windows and started the activation process with my account and phone #. The modem still lost connection when I did this but I kept on trying.4. It took me about 4 tries to SUCCEED. Each time I tried, I started back on the account and phone # page. But each time it got further and further in the activation process.Attempt #1: Account/phone # screen -> Retrieving Device Information -> Modem lost connection.Attempt #2: Account/phone # screen -> Retrieving Device Information -> List of devices detected (screen showed my MOTR SB6121 modem and a DTV box both shown as "inactive" -> Modem lost connection. (A thing to note here is that Comcast's activation system could specifically identify this modem. This meant it was in their system and their system was able to communicate with it)Attempt #3: Account/phone # screen -> Retrieving Device Information -> Listing devices detected -> Clicked "Rescan" device (modem)-> Hit "Next" to activate then got to screen where it said "Activating Device - This may take 10 minutes" -> Modem lost connectionAttempt #4: This isn't a real attempt because all I did is leave the web browser in the previous "Activating Device" screen and waited for the modem to re-establish connection again. I stepped away for a few minutes and when I came back I got a screen that stated "Device Activate" (and some other instructions that didn't matter) Hallelujah! Also note, NO phone calls had to be made to Comcast to activate this modem.At this point, this modem which was losing connection all the time before, now had a seemingly rock solid connection!!! I'm using the connection now with this modem as I type this. I've did some basic testing, streamed video, surf the net,etc. NO LOSS OF CONNECTION! I did a speed test and I'm getting 25Mbps down and 3.8Mbps up.Based on my experience so far, it is in my opinion that this modem works and is as good as what the majority of the reviewers here have stated. The problem lies in Comcast's self activation process which is suspicious. What doesn't make sense to me is the fact that modem can hold a solid connection if you didn't attempt to activate and after it's successfully activated. It was only when I tried to go through the self activate process that I saw problems. I can't say much about whether step #1 helped but it can't hurt to try. I mentioned it only to inform people of what exactly I did.I truly hope this helps people. Amazon is top notch. This modem is now doing what it's suppose to do with no issues. I'll come back and update this review in about a month to report if it still holds true. I think it will but we'll see. And lastly, thanks for the people who shared their experiences here. If it weren't for them I would have returned the modem back to Amazon and go through the hassle of finding another modem or giving in and renting one from Comcast. I'm trying to pay it forward with this review.
February 4, 2012
PROS:
  • Strong connection
  • Less expensive
  • Reliable
CONS:
  • May require constant re-setting
back to menu ↑

ARRIS SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 with N600 Router (SBG6580)

 

ARRIS SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 with N600 Router (SBG6580)One of the budget-friendly modem router combo options available, ARRIS SBG6580 is the recommended choice for those who want a bit of an “umph!” in their WiFi signal. This device is paired up with DOCSIS 3.0 technology which is superior to its predecessor DOCSIS 2.0. In addition, it is enhanced with N600 capacity which helps to achieve a superfast download speed of 343 Mbps.

  • Uses the highest level of security possible to prevent unwanted guests and hackers from compromising your online experience. Also, supports advanced encryption services for data.
  • Modem router combo has advanced parental control features which can help you filter out unwanted content so your children don’t end up viewing them.
  • Built with an intuitive user interface that makes it easier to manage networks. This UI can be accessed via PC, tablet or even smartphone.
  • Product

ARRIS SURFboard SBG6580 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/ Wi-Fi N300/N300 Dual Band Router...

The SBG6580 SURFboard Wi-Fi Cable Modem Gateway enables the delivery of innovative ultra-broadband data and multimedia services as well as high-bandwidth home networking. Designed for seamless ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Sorry for the Dyslexia - This review is on the Motorola SBG 6580 SURFboard eXtreme Wireless Cable Gateway - during my video I used an imcorrect model number :(BIG PLUS to this unit: You do not have to buy a seperate WIRELESS N ROUTER which saves about $100 or so additional cost. Some have said they bought the lesser Motorola unit and then bought an extra Wireless N router. This seems like an unneccessary expense to me.Things to know:This modem will ONLY work for CABLE-delivered Internet such as Comcast Xfinity (tm) and some other ISP's using CABLE Internet signals. It will NOT work on AT&T UVerse network (because UVerse uses a hyped-up DSL technology)1. Unbox unit2. Connect AC Power Adapter to wall (recommend plugging into UPS power supply)- plug the other end into the back of this router.3. Connect COAX cable from ISP wall plate to your modem. This is the same hexagonal cable connector type as used to connect to CABLE TV.4. Grab the included cat 5e ETHERNET CABLE (looks similar to a telephone cable) and plug one end into your laptop or PC and one end into one of the 4 ethernet jacks on the back of the unit.5. If you don't have an ETHERNET jack on your laptop or PC you'll be going wireless - run the included INSTALLATION CD and follow the directions.6. Open your webrowser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc) and type in the modem address 192.168.100.1 then enter your username-- admin and password-- motorola and hit login button.7. You'll be looking at a web-based SETUP SCREEN with TABS from left to right.8. Click on FIREWALL tab, locate the IP FLOOD DETECTION checkbox and UNTICK IT (remove the checkmark) then click on the APPLY button.9. Pick up phone and call your ISP. From the box that shipped with your device - read the ISP the model number (SBG 6580) and the __HTC MAC ADDRESS__ ID number (the MAC ID varies from one unit to another and is printed on the bottom of your modem itself as well as the shipping box. The HTC Mac Address is the FIRST of the two listed Mac addresses, the second one is the GATEWAY address.10. Be sure your isp offers DOCSIS 3.0 SIGNAL or you will not reap the max speed from this device.About the accompanying video:about 4 minutes of hands-on demo with this device including real world speed test from the Internet. Remember to go to FIREWALL settings and un-tick IP FLOOD DETECTION - if you don't you will not get max performance. Otherwise simple to set up and blazingly fast. Note: Hard-wired (ethernet) is always going to be much faster than wireless. This proved true on my network, 30.77 mbps download speed realized (hard wired) vs 10 mbps Wireless. Overall I'm extremely happy - no negatives at all. A Must-Have piece of equipment. Important: Your ISP needs to provide good quality signal and use DOCSIS 3.0 technology to achieve the higher speeds (30 and above) mentioned in this review. Don't blame this equipment if you have a bad ISP connection you won't get the performance. My ISP is Comcast. Fiber optic is a lot faster than UVERSE IMHO.***UPDATED 4/11/2012: Comcast and Motorola have teemed up to release an important FIRMWARE UPDATE! In reading recent forum discussions about this product, I discovered a 'problem' where the modem required hard-power off (unplug power and reconnect power) at random, and on a DAILY BASIS. I myself began to experience this unpleasant phenomenon, and it wasn't until I called Comcast Support and asked to have the modem "re-provisioned" (by Comcast over the telephone) that this nagging issue finally resolved itself - via a FIRMWARE UPDATE. I went from 3.0.x.x. firmware to 3.3.1.0-GA-11-070-NOSH and once again, life was "good" and rock-solid high speed Internet a reality. Download speeds tested at 38 mpbs and 5mbps upload, heap plenty fast, Keemo Sabe. If you have problems with your modem losing connectivity, I strongly recommend you call your ISP Provider and request tech support 're-set' or 're-provision' the modem. You might get lucky and get the new firmware - you CANNOT get it from Motorola. Motorola will refer you back to your ISP. Hope this helps I wouldn't want any other equipment than this!***UPDATED 6/12/2013: Comcast, in response to pressure by AT&T, has increased their Internet speeds 'across the board' for all tiers of Internet service. What this means to you is that if you (like me) are a Comcast BLAST customer, you may experience unheard-of speed. I ran speed tests this morning as was stunned to see I am getting 55.47 MBps download and 10.69 MBs upload. This equates to 6.93 Megabytes per second download. Now that is FAST! You could download 416MB in just ONE minute! That is incredible. Also, Comcast has been pushing a lot of firmware updates out to the device, which now is rock solid and requires no maintenance or resets. Finally, new customers are reporting that they don't have to do anything more than screw the coax cable (from Comcast) onto the back of the device, plug the unit into A/C power, and then either connect via hardwire (plug your ethernet cables into the back of this unit) or wirelessly. See the side of the device for your specific WiFi WEP code which you must type into your wireless devices to gain access to your device.While I previously felt this was a wonderful unit - I now am totally convinced of it, and have the ongoing reliability to prove it. I fly for a virtual airline, and rock solid Internet communications is vital during flight ops. This equipment is as reliable as you could ever wish for.UPDATE 7/4/2013 - a close family friend got tired of paying "RENT" to Comcast for their Internet Modem, and elected to purchase this unit (albeit from B**T **Y Big Box Retailer in lieu of Amazon. I highly recommend Amazon over Big Box stores - much friendlier about returns - no restocking fee! no arguments! Friend reports this unit is now 100% plug and play - no longer need to go into configuration and turn off any settings. Friend completely satisfied - did not have to call Comcast at all.
April 30, 2011
When evaluating this type of equipment, one must differentiate between the device itself and other factors that can impact its performance. Blaming the manufacturer for issues likely caused by one's ISP is akin to saying, "I can't get past third gear because of all this construction on the highway... I'll never buy a Jaguar again!"That said, the SBG6580 is a solid piece of kit.This latest addition to the SURFboard line combines a DOCSIS 3 cable modem with a gigabit switch and a dual-antenna 802.11n wireless access point, providing all the networking equipment a home office needs in a single compact package... this amounts to a single point of failure, but that's par for the residential course. It can deliver 42 mbps downstream on a single channel (which my provider brands "Lightning") with support for eight bonded channels... meaning that when the day comes that ISPs start selling triple-digit speeds, this gateway won't need to be replaced.Wi-Fi performance has been comparable to my old draft n router with similar range and throughput in a mixed mode environment. What sets the SBG6580 apart are its better indicator lights and superior configuration utility which offers some settings normally found only on enterprise-grade equipment. Those less inclined to tinker should know that push-button support is provided; once the cable guy finished with the wall outlet, setup took less than five minutes.Finally, one word of caution: the SBG6580 needs airflow. I originally placed it flush against a similarly-sized backup hard drive on my desk and found the unit hot to the touch after a few hours. To avoid problems, do not block the vents.
November 2, 2010
Hi everybody, when I first bought the SBG6580 I was wary of the bad reviews and the disconnection problems, and I felt horrible when these issues started appearing in my SBG. Having solved the issue 2 weeks ago I would like to share it with as many people as I can to prevent this from happening to anyone else. The review I am about to write will cover the problem I encountered and the solution in a short and long format, and will be accompanied by photos. So let's begin-*Short Version Guide:*Go to 192.168.0.1, type in the username- admin and the password- motorola and look at the page that first appears (should be the Connection page). There should be three tables, look at the second one. Locate the Power column. If your power levels are negative, or if they're not within the range of -8dBmV and +8dBmV (meaning they are 9 or 10, or -9 or -10), you might have a problem. Now look at the third table and locate the power column. If your power levels are higher than 50dBmV, you might have a problem.If it's not working well (meaning it works, but keeps disconnecting), it might look something like this- [Picture uploaded to costumer photos]First thing you *should* do, although optional, is call Motorola support line. I've found them to have a great support line, and they'd be able to pinpoint the problem for you- their number is 1877-466-8646.What they would probably tell you to do, and what you can do anyway if you don't want to call them, is to call your cable company support line. What you need is a technician to come over to your house and check all of your cable lines, to try and see why the power levels are bad, and the replace the cable or instrument that is malfunctioning (most likely not your modem, don't worry). The best way to get that is to call them up, be nice, go through all the hoops and all the attempts they try to restore your connection (if they manage to restore it, wait until it stops working again, call them again, and tell them it doesn't work and that you need a technician), and then eventually tell them that you need a technician because you called Motorola support and they said you have a problem with your power levels.Usually that would do it. Don't be afraid to talk to the technician, show him the problem, but also listen to the tech and understand what they're saying.Hopefully they'd get it right on the first visit, if not, do not despair, call them again.I hope that helps anyone who's had the same issue as I did.After fixing this issue my modem works great, the wifi extends throughout the whole house (2000sqft, cast walls mostly), and all channels are locked.Good luck! Check out the extended guide below.*Long Guide Version:**What causes the problem*So let's get to the heart of the matter- Power levels.Power levels are the strength of signal that your modem is receiving and sending through the cable connection. The SBG 6580 can handle power levels ranging from -15dBmV to +15dBmV for the download stream, and up to 55dBmV for the upstream (Not so sure about the negative upstream levels). That's all in theory though, because the actual OPTIMAL range is between -8dBmV to 8dBmV for the downstream, and up to about 52dBmV for the up stream. This doesn't necessarily mean that the Modem is crap because it can't handle higher (or lower) power levels, because it seems (after talking to TWC technicians) that these levels are also the cable companies' maximum and minimum power levels. So if you're exceeding these levels, there's a good chance your cable company is doing something wrong.What are these power levels? In short, and to my completely ignorant understanding, they're the strength of the of the signal coming from through the cable from the cable company. This strength goes down as you move further away from the main line, or the place where they transmit the signal from. So basically the longer the wire is connecting your house to the "tap" (where the signal comes from)- the worse your power levels should be. The longer the cable going around your house- the worse your power levels should be. If it's an old cable, or the "tap" is malfunctioning- you're going to see bad power levels. (I say worse and bad instead of lower and low because I really have no idea how these things can work on a *negative* value, and how any of this works).*Diagnosing the problem*But let's not dwell on the technical mumbo jumbo and move on to *How to diagnose your problem, and how to solve it*-The first thing we need to do is connect to our SBG6580 and get a reading of those power levels. The way to do that could not be easier- just type 192.168.1.1 in your browser address line (yes, it's a weird address, but it'll work). You'll be asked for a username and password- the default for the username is admin (just type in admin) and for the password- motorola (just type in motorola).And this is what you should see (for a working modem)- [Picture uploaded to costumer photos](This was taken after my issue was fixed).Locate the Power column on the Downstream Bonded Channels table. See how they're all between 6 and 7? That's good. Now look at the power levels on the Upstream table- 34.000 dBmV, that's also good. Notice how all 8 lines of the Downstream table and all 4 lines of the upstream table are full, this means your channels are locked, this is the optimal situation.Now, this is what I saw when my modem was working, but kept disconnecting ever so often- [Picture uploaded to costumer photos]Notice now how the downstream power levels are negative, and that they are much closer, or over -8dBmV. Usually I'd see ranges between -7 and -9 when my modem wasn't working well (during the times when it was still able to maintain a connection). This is what the levels look like when your modem is barely hanging on to the connection. It manages to lock all downstream channels, but barely. Now look at the monstrous upstream power level- 55.7dBmV! This would usually be 57dBmV, and it was the source of all my problems, also notice that only one upstream channel is locked, this would usually show when looking at your modem lights- if all channels are locked the light would be blue. If they're not all locked, but the modem is still able to connect, the light would be green. What I'd normally see is a green light for power, a blue light for downstream (the second light down), a green light for upstream (the third light down), and a green light (sometimes flashing) for the 4th light.If you compare this photo to the one where the modem is working perfectly you can see that the high upstream levels are effectively disrupting all the other channels, causing them to go negative. While this did not cause any decrease in speed, it did cause the modem to lose signal every 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 3 hours, etc.One thing I'd like to mention here- somehow (and I have no idea how or why), this is not an issue with the modem *itself*, but rather with how it receives the signal from the cable company. When the issue was fixed, it was fixed on the cable line itself (outside my house), and nothing was done to the modem.Alright, one last thing I'd like to show you- this is how your modem looks while it is disconnected, and cannot reconnect- [Picture uploaded to costumer photos]Here what we're seeing is the modem struggling to lock on to a signal, in the photo the downstream power level is -7, but I've seen it anywhere between -9.9dBmv to 43.0dBmV, the upstream is 49dBmV, but I've seen that go all the way up to 57 as well. I'm really not sure what's happening *inside* the modem, but it's clear that something is wrong, since it would stay like this for a while (sometimes hours). The lights on the modem, by the way, will flash green when it's trying to connect like this (either the downstream or upstream light).*solving the problem*So, now that we've been able to diagnose, how do we *solve the problem?*Well, sadly there is only one way- call your cable company, and ask for a technician. Most of the time this means you'll have to go through the proper channels, call support, talk to the guy from India trying his hardest to mask his accent (god bless these guys, they do try hard, and do a great job most of the time), and eventually when all fails tell them you're seeing very high/abnormal power levels, and that you definitely need a technician.When the technician comes tell them you're seeing abnormal power signals. They'll connect their little modem to your cable line and see what they're getting, then they'll check all the wires, and eventually check the tap. They'll then either replace the cables around your house, or the cables connecting to the tap, or they'll have to call a line guy to work on it and fix it the next day.Do not despair, these guys are usually very nice, and good at what they do. If the problem persists a week later, again, do not despair, just call them again, and tell them what's happening. If you can meet up with the actual line repairman, do so, and explain to them what the problem was.Hopefully this will help you fix your line and get the steady connection I am getting.By the way, I have found that remote fixes (where they call you and say "we've changed something in our files, not your internet should work better") do not work very well, or for long. If your internet is working after one of these repairs wait at least 3 days to see if problems eventually persist.*Actual review-*Well, I have to admit, I don't really have anything to compare this modem to- it works well, wifi range is wonderful, covers the whole house (2000sqft, cast walls), speeds are great, there are no drops anymore, and the modem/router seems to have many features which I don't really use like uPnP, port forwarding, etc. Pretty basic, pretty simple to understand. There's also the option of creating a guest network, which I guess is good for some specific uses, and there's also WPS, which might be useful to some people.All in all does what it's meant to, and does it well, I guess. Not much to add, not much I know about routers or modems.
September 23, 2013
PROS:
  • Compatible and approved by the top US cable providers
  • Advanced security features
  • Relatively fast download and upload speeds
CONS:
  • May heat up when placed in a stuffed up space. Requires good airflow to operate efficiently.
back to menu ↑

ARRIS SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Modem Router Combo (SBG6400)

SBG6400is universally compatible with most major cable providers. It achieves fast download speeds of 343Mbps and pretty decent upload speed of 131Mbps – a feat that makes it surprisingly efficient for its price range. And the icing on the cake is that this combo is quite reliable and versatile as it comes with 2 gigabit/speed Ethernet ports to facilitate direct wired connections.

  • Despite being a basic modem router combo unit, this unit still boasts of high upload and download speeds. Based on the service package you are using, the SBG6400 can achieve speeds as fast as 340Mbps.
  • Built with a reliable internal processor that performs exceptionally well with gaming and HD video streaming. Generally, the processor does a good job processing data and delivering it via WiFi without latency issues.
  • Compatible Windows and Mac, it is ideal for large homes with lots of walls that require a superior range and power. That’s of course in addition to an added layer of firewall and parental control protection.
  • Product
  • Specification

ARRIS SURFboard SBG6400 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/ Wi-Fi N Router - Retail...

The ARRIS / Motorola Surfboard SBG6400 Cable Modem

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Brand Name

Arris

Item model number

SBG6400

Hardware Platform

NA

Item Weight

1.6 pounds

Product Dimensions

5.2 x 5 x 2.1 inches

Item Dimensions L x W x H

5.25 x 5 x 2.13 inches

Color

White

Swapped out my Comcast rental modem, was up and running in just a few minutes, and now I don't have to pay the $7 modem rental fee to Comcast. I'm provisioned for the 105/20 Mbps package and typically get 120/20.5 Mbps.This modem can utilize up to 8 channels of downstream for a theoretical max speed of 343 Mbps whereas the Motorola SB6121 and other earlier/cheaper DOCSIS 3 modems can only utilize 4 channels maxing your download speeds out at 172 Mbps. Just something to think about if you plan on using this modem for a few years as speeds offered will inevitably increase.Also, it *does* support IPv6 even though Comcast's page doesn't list it as certified yet. Motorola's data sheet specifically lists the SB6141 as IPv6 ready and tests with an Apple AirPort Extreme (v7.6.4) and MacBook Pro running 10.9 confirm this.Update 2/4/13: Still working great without issue.Update 3/25/13: Still not even a single reboot required.Update 8/28/13: Still working great...Update 7/8/14: First issue... had an outage for 15 min. Reset the modem and it didn't resolve the issue. Called Comcast, they reset something on their end and I was up and running again. First issue since I bought it.Update 4/5/2015: Comcast recently upgraded my speed tier and I'm consistently getting speeds up to 180/25 Mbps.
January 12, 2013
Out of nowhere, I was having excruciatingly slow internet speed on Comcast. The Comcast tech advised that my Motorola SB 4100 was at the "end of life" and that I should upgrade. Skeptical, I purchased this modem which is a DOCSIS 3.0 (and backwards compatible) modem. It worked. I went from a 2mbps download speed to over 17mbps. What a difference. There was one installation glitch that you need to be aware of. When you hook up the modem (connect the coax cable, connect the ethernet cable, and plug it in, that's it), and then try to get online, it will direct you to a Comcast self-activation screen (no other site is available). After entering my account number and phone number and hitting the "next" button, I got a blank screen, and nothing happens. So I called Comcast and they said that usually happens if you are doing an upgrade; it mostly works only for a new service connection. However, it is a simple matter to give the tech your MAC address and the serial number. After about 5 minutes, while he stayed on the line, it came alive, no problem. BUT, here's the thing: the serial number they need is the CUSTOMER serial number. This is only found on the bottom of the Motorola box the modem came in. This is different from the "S/N" serial number that is on the label that is on the instruction sheet and on the bottom of the modem itself. The customer S/N has letters in it; the regular S/N has only numbers in it and is too long. My first Comcast tech didn't know that and it took a day to sort it out. Other than that, it works well with my iMac and Apple Airport Extreme Base wireless router. Enjoy
September 29, 2011
I felt compelled to write this to help those who will encounter the problems I faced (and mentioned here). I'm one of the many people who wanted to avoid renting a modem from Comcast and bought this modem based on the stellar reviews, only to find that on the day of installation/activation that it "didn't work". Didn't work meant experiencing the same symptoms that's been mentioned here several times - "modem connects but then resets/power cycles/disconnects itself within a few minutes." This happened to me on the day I activated my Comcast internet. The technician spent 1.5 hours trying to figure it out and ended up loaning me a Comcast modem (Motorola SB5120 DOCSIS2), which came up almost instantly and activated just as fast (go figure). He suggested I return this modem as it was defective, in his opinion. I didn't like this since the probability of this was very small. But I saw what I saw and could not get past the first page of Comcast self activation screen with this modem. Before the web page for self activation could proceed, after typing my account info and phone number, the modem would conveniently lose connection. At one point I did get to the next screen where it was scanning for devices, but the modem cut out thereby hanging the process. The modem was packed up in the box for return to Amazon when I couldn't shake how much this bothered me and by my bad luck. So I came back here and read pretty much every review. What I found was there's several people who experienced the EXACT same symptoms while trying several of the same modem. There were two reviews that stood out. One was from a person who mentioned the Comcast technician moaned when he saw it was this modem, indicating that the technician was aware of difficulties using this modem. The person mentioned that after 70 minutes of trying to get the modem to connect the technician advised him to leave the modem powered on and hooked up for awhile and to try activating later. The person did this and was successful in activating the modem. The other review was from a person who was admirably persistent. His review talks of several attempts to connect and refusal to accept that the modem was defective. He ended up leaving the modem power on and connected overnight so the modem could "download firmware". The next day he was able to activate after two attempts with Comcast self activation process. Lastly, I noticed for me that if I left the modem power on and connected but make no attempt to activate it via Comcast web site, the modem retains connection (via indicator lights) for prolonged periods of time. It only seems to lose connection when I try to activate. Based on this I felt something was broken with Comcast activation process specifically for this modem or perhaps Comcast was intentionally making it difficult to activate this modem to convince customers to rent a "reliable" modem from them. To be honest, it almost worked for me. After sitting there watching the technician agonize trying to get the modem to work, I was tempted to rent the modem and move on with life. So as one last hail Mary attempt, this is what I did:1. Took the modem back out of the box and left the Motorola SB6121 power on and connected to cable outlet overnight just to entertain the possibility that some firmware or info needed to be downloaded to the modem and that for some reason it took a long time to do so.2. The next morning I tried Comcast's self activation process.3. Every time Win7's network icon in the lower right corner of my screen indicated that a internet connection was established (vs. exclamation mark) I immediately opened a IE windows and started the activation process with my account and phone #. The modem still lost connection when I did this but I kept on trying.4. It took me about 4 tries to SUCCEED. Each time I tried, I started back on the account and phone # page. But each time it got further and further in the activation process.Attempt #1: Account/phone # screen -> Retrieving Device Information -> Modem lost connection.Attempt #2: Account/phone # screen -> Retrieving Device Information -> List of devices detected (screen showed my MOTR SB6121 modem and a DTV box both shown as "inactive" -> Modem lost connection. (A thing to note here is that Comcast's activation system could specifically identify this modem. This meant it was in their system and their system was able to communicate with it)Attempt #3: Account/phone # screen -> Retrieving Device Information -> Listing devices detected -> Clicked "Rescan" device (modem)-> Hit "Next" to activate then got to screen where it said "Activating Device - This may take 10 minutes" -> Modem lost connectionAttempt #4: This isn't a real attempt because all I did is leave the web browser in the previous "Activating Device" screen and waited for the modem to re-establish connection again. I stepped away for a few minutes and when I came back I got a screen that stated "Device Activate" (and some other instructions that didn't matter) Hallelujah! Also note, NO phone calls had to be made to Comcast to activate this modem.At this point, this modem which was losing connection all the time before, now had a seemingly rock solid connection!!! I'm using the connection now with this modem as I type this. I've did some basic testing, streamed video, surf the net,etc. NO LOSS OF CONNECTION! I did a speed test and I'm getting 25Mbps down and 3.8Mbps up.Based on my experience so far, it is in my opinion that this modem works and is as good as what the majority of the reviewers here have stated. The problem lies in Comcast's self activation process which is suspicious. What doesn't make sense to me is the fact that modem can hold a solid connection if you didn't attempt to activate and after it's successfully activated. It was only when I tried to go through the self activate process that I saw problems. I can't say much about whether step #1 helped but it can't hurt to try. I mentioned it only to inform people of what exactly I did.I truly hope this helps people. Amazon is top notch. This modem is now doing what it's suppose to do with no issues. I'll come back and update this review in about a month to report if it still holds true. I think it will but we'll see. And lastly, thanks for the people who shared their experiences here. If it weren't for them I would have returned the modem back to Amazon and go through the hassle of finding another modem or giving in and renting one from Comcast. I'm trying to pay it forward with this review.
February 4, 2012
PROS:
  • Good value for money
  • Handles everyday use pretty well
  • Incredibly versatile
CONS:
  • Its online gaming features are somewhat inhibited
back to menu ↑

NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 with 24×8 Channel Bonding

As a modem router combo that is built to exclusively work with Comcast’s web service, AC1900 is definitely not for everybody. Its top price tag clearly suggests that this is the unit to go for if you are looking for a service-specific functionality and premium speeds. Actually, this is the only combo unit that uses 24×8 channel bonding that delivers download speeds of 960Mbps and an upload speed to match that we have come across this far.

  • Features 4 gigantic Ethernet ports and USB port to enable for sharing network across media. That is of course in addition to the fact that you get access to Netgear’s NetGenie app.
  • Powered by two processors a 600MHz processor dedicated for running the DOCSIS cable and a 1.0GHz to provide the best performance for both wireless and wired connections.
  • Enhanced with Beamforming+ technology for 2.4 and 5GHz band boost WiFi speed which offers reliable range for all devices.
  • Modem router combo built with advanced security features such as a customized URL for setting up the personal FTP server, guest network access, double firewall protection and DoS attack prevention.
  • Product
  • Specification

NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 (24x8) Wi-Fi Cable Modem Router (C7000) DOCSIS 3.0 Certified...

Fast self-activation for XFINITY from Comcast customers - Get connected without a service call

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Wireless Type

802.11 a/b/g/n/ac

As a Sysadmin, I have pretty high standards for my tech equipment. There's many arguments for separating your cable modem from your Wi-Fi router and the Netgear C6300 may be another one. After 90 days of ownership, these are my thoughts.=GOOD=Speed - Fast. Gigabit ports. 802.11ac support.Setup - Easy setup with Comcast/Xfinity. No calls to make. Simply go to their activation site and wait 5-10 minutes.USB - Lets you add a network printer or network storage.IPv6 - ipv6-test.com gives me a 17/20 due to Comcast not providing an ipv6 hostname, reverse DNS record, and issues with ICMPv6.DLNA - Works as expected.=NEUTRAL=Size - Some might consider it large, but since these are usually tucked away, who cares?Controls - Power On/Off, Wi-Fi On/Off, and WPS. Some may like these, but I don't use them.=BAD=Web UX - As others have noted, the web interface in painfully slow. In 2015, there's really no excuse for this. The only way to improve the interface speed is to restart the router. Unfortunately, there's no option to do this automatically. As of 2/5/2015 there has been no firmware updates, which isn't a good sign considering they must be aware of this issue. Also, you can't edit the hostnames on the Network Map through the web interface. You can do this using mobile apps, but the changes are only applied locally.Indicator Lights - The LEDs aren't as informative as the Motorola Surfboard which change from green to blue to indicate bonded channels.Warranty - 90 days phone / 1 year equipment doesn't speak to the confidence of their product quality. Should be at least 3 years all around, especially for the premium we're paying.Software - Genie software hasn't been updated for the C6300 which means many of the features are unavailable.USB Speed - Stuck at 2.0 and should be 3.0.Customization - Don't expect anything like DD-WRT levels of customization.Expensive - It will take a few years for you to recoup the rental costs you would have paid.=BOTTOM LINE=I give this router 3 out of 5 stars for being just OK and having a lot of room to improve.
February 5, 2015
The good: it's as fast as advertised. I was able to pull down well over the promised speeds. It's nice to have the dual-band as well; I had to set the old cable modem to 2.4Ghz because we had too many devices that didn't do 5.I did have to call Time Warner to get this set up, their web-based tool to automatically add a new modem didn't work for some reason. But that was very quick to do, and I was up and running in about 5 minutes.A word of warning if you have to call-- the MAC address listed in the web interface for the modem does NOT match the actual address of the modem. If you need to give it to the operator, read it off the back of the modem.The "eh": First off, compared to every other ISP interface device I've ever had, this thing is huge. It's nearly twice as tall as the Motorola Surfboard it's replacing-- there's no hiding this in the TV cabinet.Next, the web interface is SLOW. I've got a Netgear R6250 as well, and the command that runs in 1 second on there takes 10 seconds on this. Yeah, you'll likely not ever go back in there once you've set this up, but it's frustrating to have such a long wait for something that should be simple.The Bad: For whatever reason, the Ethernet switch on the modem isn't able to handle the long-but-still-within-the-spec cable I've got connecting the cable modem to the back of my house. I wasted a lot of time trying to figure out why those computers weren't working before I realized that there was no link light. The old Motorola Surfboard this replaced had no issue with it, and I've got Netgear equipment on both ends, but it just doesn't work. I did verify that it's specifically the C6300; the Netgear switch and WiFi router can both talk to the old Motorola with no issue over that cable, but neither will talk to the C6300.I'm going to drop another switch in there to resolve the issue, but since I bought this specifically because it had a built-in switch, it's annoying that I'm having to spend more money and lose yet another wall outlet to make it work.The Bottom Line: If you're getting the 300Mbps boost from TWC, this is capable of getting the job done. It sounds like from other reviews that there are local problems making it work, but they're not specific to the product.If you have a super-long run in your network, and don't need the built-in WiFi, you might want to consider the significantly cheaper Motorola SB6183.
October 25, 2014
Love this device! Backstory: I just moved into an apartment in Chicago. I pay for Comcast Xfinity's 75 Mbps for a great rate of $39.99/month. After much research, I decided to buy this unit instead of renting Comcast's modem for $10/month. Since this is a modem/router combo, I'm able to use this one device to send the wifi throughout my apartment. I have a large-ish and LONG apartment with at least 3 large rooms (and one long hallway), so I keep this modem/router in the middle room. According to Speedtest.net, with my PC connected with an ethernet cable, I get 90 Mbps (much more than I even pay for-- when does that even happen?). The wifi in the other rooms is about 20-40 Mbps, depending on how far away I am from the center of the apartment.The box comes with VERY easy instructions and even specifically had a section talking about Xfinity... It told me how to startup my internet using a comcast special website, instead of having to call the company and give any MAC addresses to the technicians. The setup took about 5 minutes, if that. I have had no issues with it since, but I've only had it for a week.Inside the box: An ethernet cable about 6 feet long, power cord, and the device itself.Please note that this box DOES NOT include a "coax" cable, which is the cable that connects this modem/router to your wall. So be sure you buy one!I highly recommend this device for the quality of the equipment, wifi speeds it emits, and the almost too-easy setup. Thanks
July 5, 2016
PROS:
  • Incredible WiFi speed
  • Wide range
  • Supports 4K and HD video streaming
CONS:
  • Only compatible with Comcast’s web services
back to menu ↑

Netgear N450 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router

 

Netgear N450 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem RouterIdeal for wireless coverage for both small and large homes, this modem router combo provides excellent range around the home and even beyond. Netgear N450 WiFi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router (N450-100NAS) has security features to make sure you don’t get infiltrated or even hacked while keeping all your users safe from the internet. In addition, this modem router combo is easy to use as setting it up is a cinch. You simply connect up and browse to the set-up screen and it’s ready to start running.

  • Built in DOCSIS 3.0 modem to give you faster cable speeds. You can, therefore, experience up to 8 times faster Internet speeds compared to 2.0.
  • Provides you with up to 340Mbps Internet download speeds and 4 Gigabit LAN ports to give your wired devices such as computers the bandwidth they honestly deserve.
  • Includes two USB ports that allow you to share your hard drive wirelessly and a quick install guide.
  • Compatible with America’s Cable Internet Providers such as XFINITY, Cox, Cablevision, Time Warner Cable and Charter.
  • Product
  • Specification

NETGEAR N450 WiFi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router (N450-100NAS)

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Two-in-One DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem WiFi Router delivers N450 WiFi and up to 340Mbps modem speed; ELIMINATE MONTHLY CABLE MODEM RENTAL FEES; Certified ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Wireless Type

802.11 a/b/g/n

I ordered one and returned the next day: wireless not workingI got a replacement from Amazon, and after 41 days, wireless stops working. All Wireless Setting of Router becomes all GREY OUT.I cannot return to Amazon now.
May 13, 2014
I bought the Netgear N450 to replace the Netgear WNDR3400 Router I was using with the Time Warner Cable modem. Since TWC have started charging for the use of their modem, I wanted to go with a modem/router combination. I chose the Netgear N450. I was excited to receive it so fast from Amazon and I immediately set it up and had it provisioned by TWC. It seemed to work well, or so I thought. As I was setting it up, I found that this modem/router does not have Guest Network Access, although is advertises that it does on Amazon.com in the Product Description (http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-DOCSIS-Cable-Router-N450-100NAS/dp/B00HC0ZDOE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1398046898&sr=8-1&keywords=n450). This feature is available on my OLD Netgear router. I also found out that the USB ReadySHARE is 2.0 as opposed to 3.0 like my OLD Netgear router. When you connect to the USB ReadySHARE Access, instead of the folder showing ReadySHARE like my OLD Netgear 3400, is shows BRCM-LVG. I don't know what the hell that's supposed to mean, and you can't rename it. This modem/router does not allow the user to access files remotely via http or ftp. I was able to do that on my OLD Netgear router.Now to my major problems with this router.First. On the external hard drive I had connected to the ReadySHARE, there were at least two large files that was causing problems. One of the files was a Sony backup file with a file size of 314gb. When I tried to access the file through ReadySHARE, the file showed 0kb (empty). There was a second large file for my Toshiba image backup with a file size of 27gb. Access it through ReadySHARE it showed 1.9gb. Neither of these files were accessible. To make sure I was not in error, I reconnected the OLD Netgear 3400 and when I accessed the files, they showed the correct file sizes and I was able to open them.Second. I have 4 items connected to the Ethernet ports in the back of the N450 modem/router. My Sony Vaio laptop to port 1, my Toshiba laptop to port 2, my Sony Bravia to port 3, and my home security camera DVR to port 4. When I look at the lights on the front of the unit, they show correctly. But when I go to the Netgear Gateway Advanced Settings under MAC Filtering, all the port connections are reversed. For example, the physical port 1 shows as port 4, port 2 as port 3, port 3 as port 2, and port 4 as port 1.Now I got on the phone with tech support and was connected to a guy who has an accent so thick that I found myself constantly asking him to repeat himself. Their call center must be in India. Anyway, we started going over the problems and he was unable to assist me much. He gave me a case number _ _ _ _ _ 938 and placed me on hold. I waited on hold for about 25 minutes until I got tired and hung up. He called me back within a minute and told me he was going to connect me with someone up the chain and I was then connected to a female who was easier to communicate with and we proceeded to run through my modem/router situation. She had me download some program whereby she was able to access my computer remotely. She was unable to do anything to rectify the problems, so she went to the Netgear site to download the firmware for that model. Once she downloaded the firmware file, she was unable to load the file into the unit because there was NO avenue within the Netgear Gateway Settings page by which to do so. On my OLD Netgear WNDR3400, whenever I opened the Netgear Gageway Settings page, it would automatically start searching for Firmware updates. I never had to go to the Netgear Support page to look for Firmware updates. The lady from Tech Support advised me to return this modem/router. I am sending it back to Amazon. My OLD Netgear router is about three years and it turned out to be a lot better and more useful that this newer N450 combo that I am returning. I'll still return the modem to TWC. I will just hold on to my OLD WNDR3400 router and buy a modem from some place else. I guess having a modem/router combo with ReadySHARE wasn't meant to happen.Tech support told me that my experience is unusual. Maybe Netgear accidentally boxed up a prototype or test unit that was never supposed to be sold. I still can't figure out what the BRCM-LVG nomenclature on the ReadySHARE folder is supposed to mean.
April 20, 2014
*** Update 11/1/2014 This will be the last update. Netgear now states this on their website;Please note that there is no option in the web interface to upgrade the firmware manually. Firmware upgrades are pushed down by the ISP._____My ISP (Comcast) has not seen fit to update my firmware with a version supporting the features I originally mentioned but did summarily lock me out of what little control I had over the device. The USB sharing works, kinda. I cannot administrate it in anyway in terms of security or network segmentation. It's plug and pray.Do not buy this or any Netgear device. You'll be getting a black box you cannot control and only hope works as you wish. How is that different from renting a modem?http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/25477Update 8/182014 Still no firmware update.***Update 6/16/14 one month later. In spite of Netgear's efforts to ensure they respond to any negative reviews (see comments), they have yet to post a firmware revision as promised addressing these concerns. Perhaps they should a bit less time on marketing and a bit more on product development.***I have been doing networking both on a personal and professional basis for some 20 years. I remember when Bay Networks started putting out these small purple boxes as personal network hubs that were light years better than anything you could get for a small office or home network at the time.Since the spin off and IPO they have changed quite a bit with the landscape of the market. Perhaps that reality contributes to this problem, perhaps it's a one-off. All I can say is I am extremely disappointed in this purchase.As the product listing clearly states this item is to contain 2 features, both of which were part of my decision to purchase this over competing products with like for like features;1. Guest WiFi network.2. USB sharing.I was disappointed to see no guest network on first configuring the device. I am out right amazed Netgear would release this product to market without USB sharing being supported. Other reviews claim to have some luck with it, but in my case a tech on Netgear's live chat system told me this feature is not supported at this time.me: yes, so if we can get to the problem. I note the documentation says web interface control of the sharing function is not fully implemented Johnpaul Delatorre: Thank you for patiently waiting Mr. (me). Johnpaul Delatorre: As I checked, the USB port of the device does not have a function yet as of now. It is created for future use. me: netgear marketied a product advertising a feature they have not implemented?me: I bought this router for this reason Johnpaul Delatorre: I do apologize for that.It's hard to accept that a company's reputation I have recommended and defended to numerous family and customers over the years would consciously find marketing a product clearly not ready for release acceptable or ethical. Given this experience I will dubiously evaluate any claims of a Netgear device before any future purchase. I would recommend you do the same.
May 10, 2014
PROS:
  • Very fast
  • Ideal for online gaming and even HD video streaming
  • Fast self-activation for XFINITY users only
  • Safe and secure
CONS:
  • Although it helps in saving money in the long run, there is a one off cost you need to incur
back to menu ↑

Netgear AC1750 (16X4) Wi-Fi Cable Modem Router

Netgear AC1750 (16X4) Wi-Fi Cable Modem Router

By owning a NETGEAR AC1750 Wi-Fi Cable Modem router, you know you’ll have a fast, reliable modem router combo and you’ll save so much money on rental costs. So get 16x faster download speeds, up to 680Mbps with this modem router. Along with the modem, some nice features have also been included. These features include:

  • This 2-in-1 modem router combo uses the latest technology DOCSIS 3.0 certified to work with some of the major US cable-Internet providers.
  • Includes a USB-port that enables you to wirelessly access and even share your hard drives.
  • Supports four upstream channels plus 16-downstream channels that provide you with reliable and efficient Internet access.
  • Product
  • Specification

NETGEAR AC1750 (16x4) Wi-Fi Cable Modem Router (C6300) DOCSIS 3.0  Certified for...

The NETGEAR AC1750 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router provides the fastest cable speed available with an AC1750 Wi-Fi router and integrated DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem, with up to 680 Mbps. Cable Labs ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Wireless Type

802.11 A/C

Love this device! Backstory: I just moved into an apartment in Chicago. I pay for Comcast Xfinity's 75 Mbps for a great rate of $39.99/month. After much research, I decided to buy this unit instead of renting Comcast's modem for $10/month. Since this is a modem/router combo, I'm able to use this one device to send the wifi throughout my apartment. I have a large-ish and LONG apartment with at least 3 large rooms (and one long hallway), so I keep this modem/router in the middle room. According to Speedtest.net, with my PC connected with an ethernet cable, I get 90 Mbps (much more than I even pay for-- when does that even happen?). The wifi in the other rooms is about 20-40 Mbps, depending on how far away I am from the center of the apartment.The box comes with VERY easy instructions and even specifically had a section talking about Xfinity... It told me how to startup my internet using a comcast special website, instead of having to call the company and give any MAC addresses to the technicians. The setup took about 5 minutes, if that. I have had no issues with it since, but I've only had it for a week.Inside the box: An ethernet cable about 6 feet long, power cord, and the device itself.Please note that this box DOES NOT include a "coax" cable, which is the cable that connects this modem/router to your wall. So be sure you buy one!I highly recommend this device for the quality of the equipment, wifi speeds it emits, and the almost too-easy setup. Thanks
July 5, 2016
As a Sysadmin, I have pretty high standards for my tech equipment. There's many arguments for separating your cable modem from your Wi-Fi router and the Netgear C6300 may be another one. After 90 days of ownership, these are my thoughts.=GOOD=Speed - Fast. Gigabit ports. 802.11ac support.Setup - Easy setup with Comcast/Xfinity. No calls to make. Simply go to their activation site and wait 5-10 minutes.USB - Lets you add a network printer or network storage.IPv6 - ipv6-test.com gives me a 17/20 due to Comcast not providing an ipv6 hostname, reverse DNS record, and issues with ICMPv6.DLNA - Works as expected.=NEUTRAL=Size - Some might consider it large, but since these are usually tucked away, who cares?Controls - Power On/Off, Wi-Fi On/Off, and WPS. Some may like these, but I don't use them.=BAD=Web UX - As others have noted, the web interface in painfully slow. In 2015, there's really no excuse for this. The only way to improve the interface speed is to restart the router. Unfortunately, there's no option to do this automatically. As of 2/5/2015 there has been no firmware updates, which isn't a good sign considering they must be aware of this issue. Also, you can't edit the hostnames on the Network Map through the web interface. You can do this using mobile apps, but the changes are only applied locally.Indicator Lights - The LEDs aren't as informative as the Motorola Surfboard which change from green to blue to indicate bonded channels.Warranty - 90 days phone / 1 year equipment doesn't speak to the confidence of their product quality. Should be at least 3 years all around, especially for the premium we're paying.Software - Genie software hasn't been updated for the C6300 which means many of the features are unavailable.USB Speed - Stuck at 2.0 and should be 3.0.Customization - Don't expect anything like DD-WRT levels of customization.Expensive - It will take a few years for you to recoup the rental costs you would have paid.=BOTTOM LINE=I give this router 3 out of 5 stars for being just OK and having a lot of room to improve.
February 5, 2015
This is for the Netgear C6300 Modem/Router AC1750. NETGEAR AC1750 (16x4) Wi-Fi Cable Modem Router (C6300) DOCSIS 3.0  Certified for Xfinity Comcast, Time Warner Cable, Cox, & moreTo start this off, this modem/router is amazing. It has worked absolutely like a dream over the first 10 months of ownership. It is only very recently that our unit started acting up, dropping both the 2.4 and 5ghz wifi networks about every 12 hours.As a former IT Tech, I know the drill for fixing an issue like this, and it always comes down to eliminating the variables to isolate the problem.Our ISP was up first.After multiple hours on the phone and countless modem resets we were able to determine a few things.1) Cable to our TV was unaffected2) We could still receive Internet when plugged into the Ethernet jack, however speeds were severely effected. We pay for 150/mbs and were only getting 45-50 over the cat-6 cable.3) Resetting the modem both physically by performing a power cycle, and from Comcast's end performing a reset seemed to only temporarily fix the issue.4) Plugging in an extra modem/router combo we had sitting around worked perfectly leading me to believe the fault is not coming from within our ISP provider but rather our Modem/Router.With our ISP checked off the list of possible causes, I then moved on to Netgear support.1) After multiple phone calls being unable to get through to support, I was disconnected after about 30 minutes on hold. I was never actually able to get connected with Netgear support.2) After verifying our unit was still covered under warranty, I saw that we needed to get an RMA number from support in order to facilitate a product return. This however is difficult when I am completely unable to get through to the provided support number.Other thoughts:-We thought the unit might be overheating as it normally runs extremely cool but often during one of its recent episodes became extremely hot to the touch. I have seen reports that the LED's should go red when overheating and we have not observed this. However using an infrared laser thermometer we have noticed the temp of the box itself spike from its normal running temp of about 90-95 degrees up to over 110 for short periods of time.-Netgear warranty/support is extremely hard to contact. After spending over 30 minutes on the phone attempting to speak to someone I was disconnected multiple times for an unknown reason. We are still within our one year manufacture's warranty but this may prove useless if we cannot get in contact.-While I do recommend the product while working, recent events have made it hard to fully endorse both the quality of the unit and the support/service of the company behind it. Please consider your purchase carefully if looking into this item. I sincerely hope I can get this issue solved in the near future.
August 2, 2016
PROS:
  • Saves on energy bills
  • Easy to set-up and use
  • DLNA to enable you to find and play your media
  • Delivers fastest cable-Internet speeds during peak hours
CONS:
  • The warranty period is very short — some users feel they could have done better
back to menu ↑

 

TP-LINK AC1750 DOCSIS 3.0 Wireless Wi-Fi Cable Modem Router (Archer CR700)If you’re looking to ditch the monthly charge of renting a modem from your Internet Service Provider (ISP), or simply you want to get higher performance, this TP-LINK modem is one of the best choices out there. It is a two-in-one modem router combo combining a high-performance modem with a next generation wireless AC-router to provide you with a reliable and powerful home network. The modem is faster throughout utilizing four upstream channel and 16 downstream channel bonding.

  • 6 internal antennas included with high-powered amplifiers to help reduce interference and improve the signal strength of the modem router combo.
  • Two USB ports that allow you to access and share media files from various networked devices and dual core processors to make sure no any kind of interruption while processing multiple tasks simultaneously.
  • Boasts beam-forming technology that helps in delivering highly-efficient and more targeted excellent wireless connection.
  • Features up to 450Mbps on the 2.4GHz band and up to 1300Mbps on the 5GHz band with Wi-Fi speeds of 1750Mbps.
  • Product
  • Specification

TP-Link AC1750 DOCSIS 3.0 (16x4) Wireless Wi-Fi Cable Modem Router, Certified for...

Get the most out of your cable Internet and eliminate monthly rental fees with the Archer CR700, CableLabs certified and works with XFINITY from Comcast, Time Warner Cable, Cablevision, and Bright ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Wireless Type

802.11 A/C

Number of USB 2.0 Ports

1

Our internet provider upgraded the internet to high speed services earlier this year, so I had to replace my old modem and router to enjoy the new internet speeds. To save money by not buying separate modem and router units, I decided to find a combo modem-router. After researching for days, and bearing in mind about the suggestions that separate units of modem and router might perform better in some case, I decided to try this TP-link modem-router because of some very good reviews and a good price. Just like most home users that use internet for common daily uses (without complicated configuration for special networking needs), I have been using it for half year now, without any issue. It is basically plug-and-play, the only step that I needed to do apart from putting together the unit and the cables was to call the internet services provider and provide them with the MAC so that they could activate the new modem. It works pretty well, our internet runs at expected if not better speeds.
August 22, 2016
The one TWC uses didn't work very well.The one that TWC charged me for was a Ubee DDW365 Wireless DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Gateway.It didn't work very well and had issues with it.With this i saw my average speed jump from 35 to 40 to 50.I have with TWC 50/5 net so the extra speed means faster downloads.the slowest I have gotten so far with this modem is 45 and that is on WiFi.
October 30, 2015
Purchased this as my area is being upgraded to the new Time Warner M AXX service (gigabit speed). It was easy to set up, works great, and definitely a big improvement in signal strength. I like that it's just one device (it's the modem and the router combined) instead of two - easier to deal with. Also, I appreciate the small feature of a power button. Occasionally I have to reboot the router, and I like being able to just hit a button rather than unplug and replug, as my router is in the top of a closet area. It's a small thing, but I appreciate it.Works great, good price.
October 22, 2015
PROS:
  • Two-year warranty
  • 16-times faster than DOCSIS 2.0 with 680Mbps download speed maximum
  • Compatible with cable-Internet plans of up to 300Mbps
  • 24/7 toll-free technical support
CONS:
  • Not ideal for cable subscription tiers over 300Mbps
back to menu ↑

Netgear N300 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router

Netgear N300 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem RouterProviding strong and reliable signal at an affordable cost, this modem router combo will help you get rid of monthly rental fees of up to 120 dollars in a year. Netgear N300 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router (C3000) features advanced parental control that allows you to filter out any unwanted websites or even content that you don’t want your children to have access to. Additionally, it is equipped with the latest DOCSIS 3.0 technology allowing you to achieve download speeds of up to 340Mbps.

  • Boasts a Turbo-Transfer feature that makes file transfer within your home network up to 40% better than before across several devices.
  • Gigabit-Ethernet ports that allow fast wired connections and USB port so you can easily share your hard-drive wirelessly.
  • NETGEAR’S Genie App gives you the ability to monitor and control your network from anywhere and even do some repairs. The App is free on Android, PC, Mac, smartphone or tablet.

NETGEAR N300 WiFi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router (C3000-100NAS)

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Certified to work with Cable Internet Providers like XFINITY from Comcast, Time Warner Cable, Cox, Cablevision, Bright House Networks,

Available: In stock

$ 84.00 109.99

Buy this item
amazon.com
PROS:
  • Provides separate access for guests that is safe enough
  • The modem router combo is great for HD gaming and video
  • Easy to set-up
  • Compatible with many US Cable Internet Providers
CONS:
  • The modem router combo is not compatible at all with the Cable-Bundled Voice Services
back to menu ↑

Actiontec Wireless-N ADSL Modem Router

Actiontec Wireless-N ADSL Modem RouterPre-configured for easy set-up so the entire family can be connected, this GT784WN Modem Router Combo provides you with the flexibility and great power you need to connect every wireless device you have. It comes as three-in-one device featuring 300Mbps wireless-N router, full rate ADSL two/two plus modem and four port switch. What’s more, it is fully compatible with most DSL service provider and includes a variety of encryptions and protections making it safe and secure to use.

  • Built-in 802.11N technology that enables you to easily surf the Internet at speeds up to 300Mbps which is 6-times faster.
  • High-grade firewall and parental controls along with unique ID assignation to protect you from hackers.
  • Features MIMO-smart antenna technology that helps in improving wireless performance by getting rid of those dead spots in your coverage.
  • Product
  • Specification

Actiontec 300 Mbps Wireless-N ADSL Modem Router (GT784WN)

The GT784WN Wireless-N DSL Modem Router is three products in one: a full rate ADSL 2/2 modem, 4-port switch and dual-antenna, 300 Mbps Wireless-N router. Compatible with all major DSL service ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Brand Name

Actiontec

Model Number

GT784WN-01

Connectivity Technology

wi-fi

Network Data Transfer Rate

300

Item Display Weight

0.00 pounds

The auto set-up did not work for me. First call was to Qwest. "Sorry, it doesn't support Qwest" was the answer. "Need to buy another one from us." I got the settings anyway, and called Actiontec.If you're having this problem:Go to advanced settings.Click on "IP Addressing - WAN IP Settings"Select "PPPoe" for #2Click on ApplyBack to Advanced SettingsGo to "Broadband" tab on the left.Enter "0" in "VPI" boxEnter "32" in VCI" boxClick "Apply"And, you're good to go. They had me up and running in less than five minutes.And now we're running well. Increased speed (20% on both up and down) on all (4) devices. Much better signal throughout the house, and less clutter.I'm very happy with my purchase. Qwest? Not so much.
April 29, 2011
Just to give an example of how bad I needed a very good modem and router. It needs to be able to handle my load...- 2 Xbox 360's on extensive multiplayer games on both. And Netflix, and other streaming videos apps. (2 wired)- 3 laptops always on facebook. netflix, or downloading torrents. (1 wired, 2 wirelss)- anywhere from 1-4 Iphones/touch/galaxy/droids smartphones. (wireless)All at the same time on some occasions.When I originally had ATT's 2Wire device, it surprisingly handled it well. Until one day it just died.So as a surrogate until I found a better one. I had a ZOOM modem/router and a netgear N router for wireless.Nothing but problems since. I ordered the dlink dir655 hoping for better results but unsuccessful.Only was able to handle 1 xbox online at a time. 1 laptop on facebook and thats about it. I heard nothing but complaints from everyone in this house.Returned the dlink sadly. Not entirely its fault, could have been that ZOOM modem (crap device).Nonetheless the hunt was still on.Extensive nights reading all the reviews that could ever be written on an umpteen number of modems and routers out there. I tend to be loyal to the brands that I have been using but on this occasion, I had to stray and glad I did. Read many reviews on the ACTIONTEC models MOST GOOD REVIEWS and the reviews were very extensive and detailed. If it wasnt for those reviews I probably would have glanced them over time and again and still be unhappy with my internet service just because I liked to stick to the brand names that I knew.Being open minded really helped me acheive peace and joy in this house.Now I understand why the ACTIONTEC had so many great reviews. So let this be another one.From someone who totally understands how vital the internet is to this houses livelihood.This is by far and so far the best ever!1. the price is well worth the investment.2. the modem/router combo is a great space saver and works better than 2 separate units.3. easy install4. ATT DSL Compatible5. no drops wired and wireless all working smoothly.
April 8, 2012
I have a few macs and a few PCs. iMac is the main home computer. I have AT&T DSL. I had an old 2Wire gateway modem/wireless router now at least 8 years old and recently "upgraded" to the latest AT&T 2Wire Gateway modem/wireless router 2701HG-B (~$100 dollars at the AT&T store). Although this was easy to set up, its wireless perfomance was glitchy and I had to reset it often, and it would regularly drop my MacBook Air wireless connection about every 5 minutes.I read the reviews on Amazon and the ActionTec modem/wireless routers appeared to be highly rated, so I purchased the Wireless N model and have been very happy.Advantages:1. It is cheaper than AT&T modem/router2. It is a bit faster (I am gaining about .2-.5 MPS in my download speeds)3. Wireless performance is excellent with greater range than AT&T modem.4. No more dropping connections with my MacBook5. You can actually custom name your wireless network and create your own password, AT&T assigns you a network name ("2WIREXXX") and a numerical password.All in all quite please and have therefore given it 5 stars. Had I known about this I would have never purchased the AT&T modem in the first place. No wonder that modem only gets 2-3 stars on Amazon. I will be selling it now on EBay.
April 16, 2011
PROS:
  • Affordable
  • Includes very advanced security features
  • Offers highest level performance
CONS:
  • No USB port to help you share media files

How to Choose a Modem Router?

When choosing a modem router, you need to consider the following:

  • Your Internet usage habits
  • Internet download speed — currently DOCSIS 3.0 is the best
  • Security features
  • A number of devices that can actually be connected to the modem router at the same time.
  • Signal reliability of the modem router

Competition — Which One Is the Best among Reviewed and Why?

TP-LINK AC1750 DOCSIS 3.0 Wireless Wi-Fi Cable Modem Router is the best modem router combo option in this review for its class leading features. First, it utilizes 4 upstream and 16-downstream channels and is powered by one of the latest DOCSIS 3.0 technology. In addition, it is designed to provide up to 680Mbps Internet speeds and up to 1750Mbps wireless speeds over dual bands i.e. 2.4 and 5 GHZ. The modem router combo also boasts great technical support and impressive two-year warranty.

Sources:

Amazon.com Ebay.com

[Total: 5    Average: 5/5]

StyleMann
Register New Account
Reset Password